Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2009, 10:24   #1

Boat: Coronado 25 (Don't tell her I'm shopping for an upgrade)
Global Internet / Satellite - Numbers, Perspective, No Hype

To the point: Is there a technology that suits my needs (listed below) that's better than Inmarsat's BGAN?

I'm not a total noob to this stuff. I do not expect to be able to watch TV on the high seas for $39.99 per month.

Basics

To begin with, my question pertains only to global internet connectivity. By global I mean:
  • Not limited to a couple miles away from a land-based WiFi access point with a big antenna
  • Not limited to 20ish miles away from a land-based "cellular" network such as the 3G/EDGE/UMTS/HSPA acronym extravaganza
  • This is a good example of good minimum coverage map
By internet, I am not referring to "broadband" (unless there is a magical service I somehow missed) that would allow me to watch YouTube videos. Yes, i want broadband, but I do not expect/need it for this purpose. My basic requirements are as follows:
  • IP based (this excludes services such as Sailmail)
  • Business/commercial friendly Terms of Service (this excludes HAM services such as Winlink)
  • Text-only-email levels of bandwidth (something like 2-10K chunks of data at a time)
  • Billing by data unit, not by time unit (this excludes the typical Iridium Globalstar $1.XX per minute plans)
Context