Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2015, 16:04   #1

Boat: Switch 51
Help Setting up my Counterpoise Ground

Greetings, I am brand new to SSB and have bought a boat that has a new ICOM 802 with a new 140 Tuner mounted in the engine compartment below the fixed Antenna. They had 3 inch copper grounding tape that had to be removed due to corrosion that ran from a 24 inch Grounding plate with 4 studs for the copper tape which ran from the plate in two different directions up the hulls and connected to the ground bolt on the bottom of the Tuner. My question is can I just run one run of 2-4 inch copper strapping from the plate to the tuner or do I need to have a loop that is connected at the plate and runs in different directions that meet at the tuner. Please forgive my ignorance in advance.

Also what size and thickness is best as well as can I use adhesive backed copper tape?

Thanks
truckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2015, 18:10   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Help Setting up my Counterpoise Ground

You can use one run to the grounding plate. I would use the widest and thickest copper tape you can find -- wider is better for RF ground connection performance, and thicker is better for corrosion resistance. Running multiple connections isn't a bad thing, but it is just getting you a "wider" connection. Loops have nothing to do with it.

There are other ways to make a good ground system, but since you already have the plate, and presumably it's in a reasonably accessible place, it makes sense to re-connect it.