Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2015, 09:46   #1

Icom 700 -does Tuner Help Receive??

I have a ICOM 700 that I want to use for SSB receive only at home. Does a Automatic Tuner help at all for receive only? I have one I can use for that or sell and make some money. The tuner is a ICOM 130. Thanks- Tim
maine50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:28   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sabre 28-2
Re: ICOM 700 -Does TUNER HELP RECEIVE??

I am no expert, so hopefully someone else will chime in. But I also have an ICOM 700 and the tuner only seems to engage when the "tune" button is pushed. So, I presume, it's really for transmit.
sneuman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 11:00   #3
Eternal Member

Yes, a tuner will help on receive. Marginally. But, you'll be able to hear quite well without it.

And, yes, you need to transmit using the tune button (which reduces power to transmit enough to activate the AT120 and set it thru its tuning sequence).

But, for receiving at home -- not transmitting -- I wouldn't bother with a tuner. Just a random length wire will do....the longer and higher the better.

Bill
WA6CCA
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 11:15   #4

Boat: Leopard 40 (new model)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maine50 View Post
I have a ICOM 700 that I want to use for SSB receive only at home. Does a Automatic Tuner help at all for receive only? I have one I can use for that or sell and make some money. The tuner is a ICOM 130. Thanks- Tim