Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2023, 05:54   #1

Boat: Freedom 40/40
ICOM M-802 not tuning

I'm an engineer with 25 years of cruising and 60+K miles under the keel, and am quite good at debugging systems, but I can't figure out what's going on with my ICOM M-802 not tuning. The system consists of an M-802 radio with an AC-140 tuner and a Shakespeare 390 24' whip antenna (I have a carbon fiber mast with no standing rigging). We are currently in Guatemala.

I'm a network controller for the NW Caribbean net, and last year I had no problems transmitting to the rest of fleet. One day I found that my ICOM M-802 wouldn't tune, but I could hear Chris Parker's forecasts and other participants in the NW Caribbean net just fine. The cruising season was almost over, so I didn't pursue it.

Once I had BlueJacket hauled for hurricane season, I had the yard brush my Dynaplates until they were nice and clean, and I hoped that would solve the problem as they were quite encrusted with stuff. When I splashed this year, it was clear that it didn't. Yesterday I hoped to debug the problem, but walked away defeated.

The problem is that when I press the Tune button, the radio flashes TUNE and then turns to THRU. You can hear the tuner clicking away when I do this. I have a digital SWR meter, and inserted it between the radio and the antenna. I can see an SWR of 10+ when it tries to tune. I also moved the SWR meter to just before the tuner, with the same results.

In an attempt to solve this, I disconnected all of the PL-259 connectors, inspected and cleaned them. I also thoroughly cleaned all of the ground connections, replaced some, and reassembled with dielectric grease. I replaced the GTO-15 cable with a new one. The control connector at the tuner is nice and clean.