Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 14:00   #1

Internet Access Around the World

I plan to go mobile with my life, and sail around the world.

I am a self-employed intra-day financial trader. I can work wherever I have an internet connection. What is your impression on the current state/future of wireless internet access around the world? Where do you think it is going? Tips on how to make this work? Ideas? Is it only reliable in marinas?

Comments, questions, tips, input?
WhataWorld! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 14:41   #2

Boat: private yacht always moving
Do a forum search on internet,,, this topic has been beat to death
captainKJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 14:52   #3

Yes, the question of general internet access has, but I feel my request is a different side of it. I don't need internet mainly for email, weather, etc. I need internet that is relatively reliable and fast
WhataWorld! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 15:01   #4

Cruisers & Sailing Forums - Search Results
Old 09-01-2011, 15:03   #5

Marine Communications and Internet Access
Old 09-01-2011, 16:09   #6

Wireless Internet At Sea – Breaking Free Of Corporate Internet Part 2*|*gCaptain
Old 10-01-2011, 05:48   #7
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
If your budget suppost it , consider installing Inmarsat Fleetbroadband, startings systems at 150Kbps for about 4K dollars at 10 dollars/megabyte. That way you are independant.

Dave
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 05:40   #8