Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 11:29   #1

Boat: Bavaria 37 (2007)
Marine electronics for dummies

I'm not a total newbie, but I know enough to know I don't know enough.

So can anyone recommend a "Marine electronics for dummies" website that covers all (or at least most) things eletronics for yachties.
mausgras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 11:34   #2

Boat: 1995 hunter 430
Re: Marine electronics for dummies

Navicula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 14:40   #3

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC

I don't know about a website but a good starting point is Nigel Calder's Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual. Chuck

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 15:23   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais

There is a lot to know and I don't know it all and you can't spend the time to learn it all quickly and actually know it. I just finished doing an integration of Seatalk, NMEA 2000 between RayMarine and another vendor. The Pro I hired had to do a few do overs to make it work. It's not rocket science but then there are a lot of things less complicated that I wouldn't do either.