Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2014, 08:03   #1

Boat: Little harbor 38
Mounting insulators for SSB with a gimballed radar

Just purchased an Icom 802 with tuner and want to mount insulators on my backstay. I have a gimballed radar (Simrad 4g) mounted about 10' up on the backstay and also a backstay adjuster(Sailtec)at the lower end of the backstay.
Does anyone have experience with this? I'm wondering if there are any issues with the antenna and radar? Also, is it alright to mount the lower insulator below the gimballed unit, rather than above?
Any advise would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	89860  
Alls Well is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2014, 08:17   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Mounting insulators for SSB with a gimballed radar