Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2020, 18:36   #1

Boat: Sabre 34-1 (sold) and Saga 43
N2K Gremlins

Our new-to-us boat (coming up on a year) has a fairly robust instrumentation system. The chart plotter is a Furuno NavNet, with position information provided by an N2K GPS unit. Other instrumentation is Ray ST60, which eventually is turned to 0183 and comes into the chartplotter. There is also a Nauticast AIS. Presumably, all of this worked at one point.

I have some experience with N2K, having designed and installed an N2K network on my last boat. But I'm hardly an expert.

Well, I recently realized that the Furuno chartplotter wasn't getting the GPS signal from the N2K unit. It was getting it as a data element from the AIS. Hm... Interesting.

So, some digging.

The N2K network is stupid simple. 3 Tees in a row, power comes in one end, 2 resisters on the other end, the GPS and the chartplotter in the middle. Ultimate bare-bones N2K network. But the chartplotter doesn't see the GPS.

I have an old B&G Triton around, so I made up a patch cable to go investigate. Here's the weirdness.

* Remove the chartplotter, plug in the Triton, GPS not visible.
* Remove the GPS, plug in the Triton, chartplotter not visible.
? How can both be bad?
* On a lark, removed one resistor (theoretically a bad network now), plug in the Triton (so I have 3 devices on the network), and BOOM, the Triton can see the GPS and Chartplotter, the Chartplotter can see the Triton and GPS, fix is found, all is good.
* Remove the Triton, fix is lost (and chartplotter doesn't recognize the network). Reinstall Triton, fix is found. Remove Triton and reinstall resistor, still no fix.