Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2015, 09:36   #1

Boat: Irwin 30
Send a message via Skype™ to mrlee
Nav.-Tablet

Hi all...I am wanting to get an Android tablet for back-up navigation. Can I use an 8GB ROM and a memory card? OR will I need an internal 16GB? My idea was to put the charts on the memory card...different cards for different charts...is this doable?
This whole nav-electronics thing has me going in circles as I am not good with electronics/computers etc...OUCH!!
Thanks for your help in advance...

Trying hard to get out there!!!!
mrlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 10:40   #2

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Re: Nav.-Tablet

FWIW, one of the two Android tablets we use for back-up navigation is a 10" Samsung with only 16 Gb storage. No problems with space for charts, etc.

Assuming you might want to use the tablet for other stuff, too... going with only the smallest offered storage capacity probably wouldn't be perfect in the long run. We also keep all our tech manuals on there, a boating library of how-to books, pics of boat systems and projects in progress, etc.

-Chris
Old 03-03-2015, 12:30   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

There is this thing
RAVPower FileHub Wireless SD Card Reader with 3000mAh Backup Battery/Portable Charger, Wireless Mobile Storage Media Sharing, WLAN Hot Spot & NAS File Server
It's a wireless travel router as well as a portable data storage unit, either micro SD card or it will power a hard drive through it's USB plug. I bought one as it's a way around the data storage limit of an Ipad, with this thing and a terra bite hard drive, I have a terra bite of data available for my Ipad, plus it's a portable battery too etc.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 13:31   #4