Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-01-2024, 12:11   #1

Location: On my vessel. Currently at Little Creek Marina, Norfolk, Va..
Boat: 32 Endeavor
nmea o183 to laptop open cpn

So I have a simple question. I have 3 seperate streams of nmea 0183 data I want to SIMPLY send to my opencpn laptop without buying a multiplexer, trying to learn LInux prog. etc. can I run cheap db9 usb converters into a usb hub and 1 line to my laptop? Avoiding ground loops by using the ! wire rs232 common ground option. Data Points* pre 2015gx2150 ais. pre 1995? st60 depth pre 2015 garmin echomap 54 dv or backup raym. A65 plotter pre-many moons? if not, i assume it would work if i used 3 seperate ports on laptop. have 2 usb, 1 ethernet 1 hdmi. win 10.i am no techie of any kind. Thanks for any patientce exercised.
Captain-Hook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2024, 12:45   #2

Re: nmea o183 to laptop open cpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain-Hook View Post
So I have a simple question. I have 3 seperate streams of nmea 0183 data I want to SIMPLY send to my opencpn laptop without buying a multiplexer, trying to learn LInux prog. etc. can I run cheap db9 usb converters into a usb hub and 1 line to my laptop? Avoiding ground loops by using the ! wire rs232 common ground option. Data Points* pre 2015gx2150 ais. pre 1995? st60 depth pre 2015 garmin echomap 54 dv or backup raym. A65 plotter pre-many moons? if not, i assume it would work if i used 3 seperate ports on laptop. have 2 usb, 1 ethernet 1 hdmi. win 10.i am no techie of any kind. Thanks for any patientce exercised.
Signalk can do that, download link is bottom right under "releases".
https://github.com/SignalK/signalk-server-windows