Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2014, 07:45   #1

Boat: Whitby 42
Refrigeration Problem

I have been fighting refrigeration problems for the last 4 years but this problem has me stumped. I have a separate freezer unit with two large holding plates run by a Danfoss compressor with a capillary tube. The plates run in series first to the plate with the capillary tube then out of the box to the plate on the other side of the box then back to the compressor (Normal). The unit was working properly with both plates frosting and the temp of the box freezing things properly. Then the first plate (the one with the capillary tube refused to frost up and went to box temp.. I assumed that I had too much Freon and over a couple of day reduce the charge until I was down to 2 psi and the second plate would not freeze. I was in the middle of nowhere so I increase the Freon to about 14 psi froze the second plate and a length of the return tube and reduced the box size This got me through the season. Now I am In the Rio Dulce try to figure it out. I checked and the plate is full of “antifreeze”. Does anyone have any subjection as to where I should go from here?
Some history the last thing done to this unit was the installation of a dryer, vacuumed and Freon. This was two weeks before the problem.
Steve
lions paw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2014, 08:30   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1978 Hudson Force 50 Ketch
Re: Refrigeration Problem

Hola Lions Paw...
It could be helpful for us to know the system type, is it a home brew system or one from a manufacturer?