Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-2010, 06:56   #1
RDW

Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
SSB Test

I am brand new to ssb. I am on my boat and reading the books and manuels. When I switch from channel to channel I do not seem to hear much of anything other than stattic. For example ch 62,63,64 are listed as BBC. I would think I could hear their broadcast. I have a IC-M802 installed by Morris Yachts so the most likely problem is user error on my part. I have the volumn up. I was able to hear a carribean net last night over a lot of static. My RF gain is set at 9. My aautomatic gain control is on. I have turned my squlch off. Still can not hear BBC or CBS.'S
Suggestions?
RDW
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 07:46   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time
here is a list of nets that you can try listening for

Ham Maritime Mobile Nets
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 08:11   #3
Eternal Member

Boat: Vancouver 36 cutter????
Send a message via Skype™ to capt_douglas
As a fan of foreign broadcast stations, it can be frustrating to push the button for the station and hear nothing.

I don't know the correlation between channels and frequencies but here are some suggestions:
1. Some frequencies come in better than other at different times of the day. You may have to search a bit for one that comes in well.
2. Some stations beam their signals to areas other than North America (assuming that's where you are). Radio listening guides generally have a list of stations and times when they're beaming to NA.