Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2021, 15:30   #1

Boat: Custom, Redwing 26
Vhf aux input? Adaption for a sailor with a speech disability

Hi, I am a newbie to the forums, obviously. Hoping you will be forgiving of my ignorance.

I am looking for a vhf radio that can send computer generated or pre-recorded responses or hails. I have cerebral palsy and my speech is not always clear. I can program a tablet or whatever to produce the audio, but I don’t know enough about vhf “stuff” to link the aux feed to the radio.

Also, using the radio normally with a mic, you need to push/hold a button while transmitting. Can this be automated when using aux audio?

Or am I going down the wrong path; should I explore a nmea enabled vhf? What functionality is added by having the vhf on the nmea bus? I am all wired with nmea 2000; adding the vhf would be simple enough.

All thoughts and ideas appreciated! Thanks!

-Hannah (trawler, USVI)
Latitudes17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 00:04   #2

Re: Vhf aux input? Adaption for a sailor with a speech disability

the nmea 2000 does not help you here at all.

most likely you'd need to have something custom made for this.

something could probably be easily made to input audio to the vhf via the headphone jack of the ipad. but you'd have the push the tx button yourself.

of course you could also just hold the ipad infront of the vhf mic and hold the button. which requires nothing new. but would be a pain.