Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Challenges
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2008, 19:36   #1
Ora

Please Help! Can you identify this sailboat?

Okay, so a friend sent me the link to this model of a sailboat and is trying to tell me the starboard side is opposite to what I believe it to be. (more below pic)In my eyes the bow of this boat is facing to the right and the stern to the left. Can anyone help me identify this boat (name, era, explanation of the riggin, etc.) and help me to explain to him (if I'm right, of course) the parts of this boat? I have limited experience with sailing, but I'm pretty sure I'm right (the stern is clearly on the left). I'm really an amateur when it comes to this and I'd really love for him to hear it from someone with far more knowledge than I.
Here is his explanation (crude as it may be):