Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-02-2014, 09:28   #1

cmake help for a total noob

I have installed Visual C++ Express 2010 and the other utilities recommended for compiling O in Windows. xwWidgets 2.8.12 compiled fine from the command line. I followed all the directions for environment variables, etc. and rebooted the computer to make sure everything restarted from scratch.

When I issued:
cmake -G „Visual Studio 10“ ..

I got the following error message:

C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:108 (message):
Could NOT find Gettext (missing: GETTEXT_MSGMERGE_EXECUTABLE
GETTEXT_MSGFMT_EXECUTABLE)

I realize that I should be able to go into the .cmake file and figure it out, but my skills aren't quite at that level yet.

I have not tried using the GUI version of cmake yet. Would that give me better diagnostics?

I can send CMakeOutput.log, if that helps. But it's not saying much (at least to my limited language skills). Down near the bottom, that file says:

Build succeeded.
0 Warning(s)
0 Error(s)

Also, another really naive question for you. What's the purpose of the "upside down" quote mark in „Visual Studio 10“? I don't have that readily available on my keyboard. So far I've just used the regular " for both, and it seems to work. Is it just for easy display, so you can tell the open quote from the closed quote? Or is there other functionality that could get me in trouble if I don't use it?

Thanks!

RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2014, 09:39   #2

Boat: Phantom 19
Re: cmake help for a total noob

RD...
It means you don't have gettext installed or it is not in your path.
Quote:
Gettext

Install Poedit from Poedit - it's version of gettext is the best available out there.