Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2012, 01:59   #1

Boat: Bruce Roberts 44 Ofshore
Droid newbie, possible convert/defector from iphone. ROOTED! What next?

I bought a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7" a couple of days ago and successfully rooted it last night. My ultimate goal is to get OpenCPN running on it. What do I need to do next? Layman's terms, please! I am a total newb to Droid devices!
GrowleyMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2012, 05:13   #2

Boat: 31' homebuilt Michalak-designed Cormorant "Sea Fever"
Re: Droid newbie, possible convert/defector from iphone. ROOTED! What next?

There are a few threads on this:

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...now-94064.html

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ess-94245.html

But MX Mariner may be an easier and better choice for you, especially if you intend to cruise mostly US waters. Check it out.
Cormorant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2012, 09:45   #3

Boat: Norsea, center cockpit/aft cabin, 27'0"

GrowlyMonster,

Since you are on a 27' boat you are literally in the same boat as many of us who lack the battery reserve and space to support a setup like that mentioned above.