Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2020, 04:53   #1

OpenCPN and SignalK

Hey guys, Im new to OpenCPN and have a few questions.

I am running a RaspPi4 on have flashed the headless OpenPlotter image.

I have some questions regarding the way data is handled in OpenCPN and SignalK.

1. Do devices send all NMEA data to SignalK and then SignalK forwards all NMEA data to OpenCPN?

2. Am I best to add my GPS as a serial device directly in OpenCPN or in SignalK. When added as a serial device in OpenCPN i am experience dropouts about 5 seconds after OpenCPN is launched. The GPS just dies.

Also, in OpenCPN I have the connection added and enabled, however in SignalK it does not show any registered devices.

3. Also, how can I read data from I2C devices into OpenCPN such as a digital compass or accel?

Thanks for the help!
deanfourie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2020, 09:30   #2

Boat: Jeanneau SO 32I
Re: OpenCPN and SignalK

1 No default connections are defined in openplotter. There are several ways to do the same thing, through signal K or Kplex and depending on our goals and devices.

2a This problem is difficult to evaluate without knowing how the connection is made or if it is a software or wiring problem. Details are missing.

2b It is normal. If you have only defined a connection in opencpn the rest of openplotter does not receive anything by default -see point 1-.

3 No, you can't. Opencpn is not able to read raw data from GPIO. To do this you must connect them using signal K and convert that data from signal k format to NMEA0183 format. Once transformed opencpn will be able to display them.

Bonus 1. Opencpn will soon be able to read Signal k data directly.