Cruisers Forum
 

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2014, 09:08   #166
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

The little video "test.exe" did not work right. I see blank screen, with a little mouse movement recorded. No OPCN image at all.

Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 09:23   #167
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

Very strange that you do not have "Break all" option in debug screen.

Try this:
1. Start O in debug mode, running normal OK.
2. Switch to VS2010 application.
3. Try to find "Debug->Break all" option in Debug menu.
4. Hit "Break all" menu option, and see the break, just to confirm that this works.

Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 14:24   #168
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Dave

sorry for the video . I think renaming to .pdf has broken it . I will try to do better

At last I got the right menus in VS2010 (Advanced parameters instead of basic parameters )
So I can post attached the call stack at the debug mode O freezing
Curiously I get two types of call stack
Pile-1 & Pile-2 got with the mouse clicks
Pile-3 & Pile-4 got with the finger touches

My process is even more simple . Clicking/touching a route point to highlight the route in yellow then selecting a track (I have severals in the area )
I noticed it don't react everywhere along a track, but I found a place where it freeze for every track

Jean Pierre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pile-1.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	404.9 KB
ID:	85499   Click image for larger version

Name:	pile-2.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	271.1 KB
ID:	85500  

Click image for larger version

Name:	pile-3.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	246.4 KB
ID:	85501   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pile-4.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	261.1 KB
ID:	85502  

Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 14:48   #169
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Dave

I seem to me that a node->GetNext() is missing in chcanv.cpp:6543 to 6552 ?

Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2014, 17:10   #170
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

Bingo! You found it!

Now that we see it, it is easy to reproduce.
1. Make a route, and then hide it using route manager dialog.
2. Remember where the route is, say by having it cross a grid line intersection.
3. Make another route, and highlight a route point so that it goes yellow.
4. Click anywhere on the hidden route, i.e. at the grid intersection.
5. Instant hang.

Solution is as you propose. Make the following change:

Code:
                if(!b_start_rollover && !b_startedit_route){
                    SelectableItemList SelList = pSelect->FindSelectionList( m_cursor_lat, m_cursor_lon,
                                                                             SELTYPE_ROUTESEGMENT );
                    wxSelectableItemListNode *node = SelList.GetFirst();
                    while( node ) {
                        SelectItem *pFindSel = node->GetData();
                        
                        Route *pr = (Route *) pFindSel->m_pData3;        
                        
                        if( pr && pr->IsVisible() ){
                            b_start_rollover = true;
                            break;
                        }
++                        node = node->GetNext();
                    }       // while
                }
There, now, that wasn't so hard after all. We'll turn you into a developer yet

Thanks, and keep up the good work.
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 02:25   #171
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Dave

Now I would focus on points when using touch screen :

When touching a route point to select it, the entire route turns yellow
Now, if you double touch on any other route point (or elsewhere), you will open this first touched point properties dialog. This could be a bit confusing

May be there is a motive to highlight the entire route that I don't see but I would propose to highlight only the selected route point and limit the double touch on this point selection area to open properties ?

also when the route point is selected (thus the route is yellow), and you try to drag it, and you have a bit to slow finger, it can be interpreted as a long touch, opening the point menu. So, a clumsy finger (as mine ) can unintentionally launch a menu command instead of dragging the point
I would propose if possible to deactivate double touch on this point when it is selected and highlighted

the scenario then could be .
one single touch on a route point to select it : it turns yellow
now it it only possible to drag it
a single touch elsewhere suppress selection and yellow highlight
a double touch elsewhere suppress selection and yellow highlight and eventually does a normal action at the place when it is done
a long touch on a no selected route point open his properties dialog
a long touch on a selected route point does nothing

The scenario should be exactly the same for an individual way point


Another point is when creating a route and you want to put a point outside the screen. it's impossible to drag, each touch creating a point.
I don't know how to do that . May be by having a small zone around the screen where a touch would not create a point but drag (as the little green arrows in no touch screen mode ) ?

Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 04:23   #172
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,711
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Code:
Build succeeded.
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\S57ENC.vcxproj" (default target) (6) ->
(ClCompile target) ->
  ..\src\s52plib.cpp(380): warning C4305: '=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\S57ENC.vcxproj]
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\plugin\dashboard_pi\dashboard_pi.vcxproj" (default target) (8) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj"(default target) (10) ->
  ..\src\Route.cpp(656): warning C4305: 'initializing' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]

  ..\src\Route.cpp(665): warning C4305: '-=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\math.h(632): warning C4005: 'M_PI' : macro redefinition [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
4 Warning(s)   0 Error(s)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 14:13   #173
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

I found a problem with routes and route points creation :

1) create a route then delete it, exit and restart O : all the route point are still here and in the way point list in the route manager

2) create a route then exit and restart O
there are now two routes in the route manager and all the route points are in the way point list
delete both and the points are still in the route manager

the version is compiled from git including the commit "Correct sounding render inclusion test. " this morning

Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 18:25   #174
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 17,711
Images: 2
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Code:
Build succeeded.

"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\S57ENC.vcxproj" (default target) (6) ->
(ClCompile target) ->
  ..\src\s52plib.cpp(380): warning C4305: '=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\S57ENC.vcxproj]


"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (default target) (1) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\plugins\dashboard_pi\dashboard_pi.vcxproj" (default target) (8) ->
"C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj" (default target) (10) ->
  ..\src\Route.cpp(656): warning C4305: 'initializing' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]

  ..\src\Route.cpp(665): warning C4305: '-=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float' [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  ..\src\ais.cpp(752): warning C4305: '=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float'
[C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  ..\src\ais.cpp(754): warning C4305: '=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float'
[C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  ..\src\ais.cpp(756): warning C4305: '=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float'
[C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  ..\src\ais.cpp(996): warning C4305: '+=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float'
 [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  ..\src\ais.cpp(998): warning C4305: '-=' : truncation from 'double' to 'float'
 [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
  c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\include\math.h(632): warning C4005: 'M_PI' : macro redefinition [C:\Data-Dart\Up-Soft\Navigation\opencpn-git\build\opencpn.vcxproj]
    9 Warning(s)
    0 Error(s)
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 21:30   #175
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

Regarding your observation about duplicate points in route creation and deletion....

I cannot reproduce this. Is it possible that you have some kind of leftover "changes" file in your config directory?

The changes file should exist while OCPN is running, but should be deleted on a normal shutdown of OCPN.

In normal conditions, there should be no "changes" file in your config directory when you start OCPN.

Are you running in portable mode?

Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2014, 23:30   #176
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Hi Dave

I run in a "normal" environment, not portable.

Yes I have a "change" file on both my two computers reproducing the problem

Without this file, it works fine

Creating, deleting routes and WPts and track do not keep such a file any more
On this two machines I have tested the "crash and track rescue" . I suppose these files have been kept at this occasion ?

Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 08:19   #177
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

I can now reproduce the problem if I cause a crash, so that there is an unprocessed "changes" file on the next startup. This is a problem with ingesting and applying the changes file, should be easy to fix.

However, unless you crash, or stop O from within a debugger, then you should never have a "changes" file to apply on startup of O.


Lets please confirm that, for you, when you shut down O normally, there is no "changes" file left in the config directory.

Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 12:12   #178
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
However, unless you crash, or stop O from within a debugger, then you should never have a "changes" file to apply on startup of O.
Lets please confirm that, for you, when you shut down O normally, there is no "changes" file left in the config directory.
Dave
I can confirm : No "change" file left when O is closed normally

Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 20:02   #179
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

jp...

I made some changes to the Touch screen interface, mainly following your thoughtful suggestions.

1. A RoutePoint or mark is highlighted by single touch.
2. While highlighted, mark is able to be moved.
3. Single or double click away from mark de-selects the mark for moving.
4. While a point is selected and hilighted, the long touch has no effect.
5. While drag-moving a point, if you move to near the screen edges, the chart will pan as long as the touch is held in this margin.

6. In route creation, the route being created is highlighted as a reminder of what mode you are in. We do this because there is no mouse cursor on a touch tablet.
7. While creating a route, if you touch near the edges of the screen, the chart will pan and no point will be added. Also, the zoom in/out buttons on the toolbar work during route creation.

All of this is in github now. I look forward to your comments.

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2014, 06:55   #180
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 844
Re: OpenCPN Beta Version 3.3.1824 Released

Hi Dave

Compiled and tested new Git
The new scenario to move Wpts and route points and to create routes works fine.
From my test I found it very easy now . Many thanks
Just a small detail. I can highlight several route points. The last touched point is the selected one but the others previously touched stay highlighted until I re-select then unselect it. This don't happen with individual Wpts.
To reproduce, start with a route and touch more than one point one after one. If you touch an individual wpt first it will not happen any more
Jean Pierre
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, lease, opencpn


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.814 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 185 14-09-2012 07:43
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.802 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 158 14-08-2012 10:07
OpenCPN Beta Version 3.1.714 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 91 01-08-2012 17:08

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.