Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2018, 18:11   #1

Boat: Pacific Seacraft Flicka 20
OpenCPN not engaging virtual port

Hello OpenCPN experts,

I am new to this wonderful application so please forgive me if the answer to the question is simple. But I have search high and low for a solution to my problem in the docs, and here and elsewhere and I am stumped. I would like to set up OpenCPN so that it opens a connection to a virtual (pseudo) port and receives GPS data through that port. I am hoping to share GPS data that I receive through a network socket with OpenCPN and other programs on the computer. So far, I have been able to set up a working virtual port using python and I have confirmed its function by sending test GPS data through this port to another program (Terminal running Screen). But when I then set up the connection in OpenCPN and then try to receive the data to through the virtual port the NEMA Debug Monitor shows no received data. I know that OpenCPN has been installed properly and has the potential to work with serial ports because I found that it can receive data from a GPS unit via a USB serial port connection.

I am using a Mac with OS 10.11 (El Capitan) and OpenCPN 4.8.6
I set up port: /dev/ptyp0 at 115200 using python and confirmed that it worked by writing to it and then getting the data from /dev/ttyp0 using Terminal

Data connection: Serial, /dev/ttyp0, priority 1, 115200, Connection input, filters none

the test data that I sent was: $GPRMC,123519,A,4807.038,N,01131.000,E,022.4,084.4 ,230394,003.1,W*6A

I would greatly appreciate any help! Thank you!

Jay
Flicka_1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 19:27   #2

Re: OpenCPN not engaging virtual port

Do you have the correct driver installed? From the OpenCPN wiki:

Quote: