Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2022, 05:49   #1

Boat: Nauticat 33
Radar recommendation

Hi All,

I'm a noob when it comes to buying and installing a navigation system. I want to start with the radar.

Many choices but I'd like to get 1 that integrates with opencpn and the other bits to be added later.

My travel plans will take me from Seattle to Alaska, Hawaii all coasts and an Atlantic crossing.

Currently I'm considering a Garmin 18 xhd. Will this be enough for the job or something else. Thanks for the info.
C_Breeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2022, 06:10   #2

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Re: Radar recommendation

We just installed a B&G 4G Radome.

Works great with OpenCPN.
All you need is a 12V connection below at deck level or your navstation and a crossover Ethernet cable at the end of the big radar cable which comes with the unit.

You do not need the supplied connection box.

We bought ours recently here in France from a company selling surplus parts from the big yacht manufacturing plants.

About 1400€.

It's not the very latest model but already 4Generation solid state.
Old 13-06-2022, 06:35   #3

I do not know about 18 xhd. But I just installed a fathom 24 and it is very disappointing. Can see moving targets or small boats
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2022, 10:53   #4

Boat: Najad 34

C_Breeze..
All Navico broadband radar scanners (3G, 4G and Halo(xx)) are well supported by OCPN-Radar plugin. (Simrad/Lowrance/B&G are just trade marks for the same maker)

Garmin HD and xHD are also working.
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2022, 04:23   #5

Boat: KMY Stadtship 56