Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2014, 05:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Route Properties Detail

Hi to all
Tried a search on this but found no answer
The Route properties display page only shows the latitude and longitude to 1 decimal place in degrees and minutes.

if I used this info we would be run over our last leg.
I am using this for the SAR function and as the search lines spacing we use is 100 meters the info on the page is not accurate as it rounding up or down to 1 decimal place over 200 meters. We need 3 decimal place's to be accurate.
If I right click on a waypoint and go to properties it gives a full Lat and long to 4 decimal places.
We need to print out the properties and radio them to vessels in the search.
Is it possible to alter the properties page it to display the lat and long to 3 decimal places.
Thanks in advance for your help.
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:06   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,234
Re: Route properties detail

dseddn...
For this very special use case, I would suggest patching the source to suit your needs (you will need to change about 2 lines of code)
For vast majority of uses the current precision is sufficient and minutes to 3 decimal degreees (1.8 m precision) is way over what a normal GPS provides anyway.
Please file a feature request in Flyspray for a "systematic" solution - it is easy to implement, but I can assure you it will get forgotten if not in the tracker.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:24   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Re: Route properties detail

Thanks I will do that.
I need 3 decimal places as in coordinates "degrees decimal minutes" 0.065 is 100 meters, rounding up to .1 is almost 200 meters.
Thanks again
David
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 22:51   #4
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35
Posts: 1,251
Re: Route properties detail

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
dseddn...
For this very special use case, I would suggest patching the source to suit your needs (you will need to change about 2 lines of code)
For vast majority of uses the current precision is sufficient and minutes to 3 decimal degreees (1.8 m precision) is way over what a normal GPS provides anyway.
Please file a feature request in Flyspray for a "systematic" solution - it is easy to implement, but I can assure you it will get forgotten if not in the tracker.

Pavel
Pavel,

You are right that 1.8 m position resolution is normally not necessary in the context of route planning. You are also correct that this level of resolution could not be obtained using standard GPS receivers.

However, it seems to me that making small changes to O that increases it's usefulness for non-cruising users is a good thing and in the sprite of open source software. Also, I don't see what harm adding the additional decimal places would do. Like you said it is only 2 or so lines of code.

Best regards,

Paul
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 00:42   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 4,796
Re: Route properties detail

The precision of actual GPS chip sets is better than 2.5m CEP(*) or better than 2m using SBAS - satellite based differential corrections as WAAS in the US or EGNOS in Europe. SBAS is standard in these chipsets, but has to be enabled by the system integrator.
Data for the u-blox LEA8 or the SIRF Star V 5e families of products.
(*) CEP= 90% of the time in a circle of that diameter.

Boating we have normally near to ideal conditions for GPS reception - clear sky, little or no obstruction, little multi path reception. We can take this precisions as valid.

Implies that our measurement expressed with 3 digits of a minute (=1nm or 1852m) should oscillate by 1 at the least significant digit.
Reading "001E 57.345" the real value will be something in between the range of .344 and .346. Or .343 and .347 if we want to take precautions.

Not sufficient for automatic docking (and has the dock being surveyed correctly?) but pretty good for navigating

Hubert
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 02:10   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Re: Route properties detail

Hi again
One thing I didn't say is that we are a volunteer non profit organisation Sea Rescue we get a small amount of government funding and have to fund raise to get operating capital we are not a commercial operation.
Thanks
David
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 23:12   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Route properties detail

Quote:
Originally Posted by dseddn View Post
We need to print out the properties and radio them to vessels in the search.
There was a quite promising beginning for a Print Route function...

This might take many useful options.
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 00:14   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Re: Route properties detail

Hi Pavel
I don"t think my issue is of much importance to the programmers.
I have compiled the source code and was wondering if you or someone can point me in the right direction to make the changes.
I believe the form routeprop.cpp is where the changes will need to be made but where to start. I am new to c++, I played with it a bit a few years ago, have done a lot of visual basic and html, a bit different. I can follow the code mostly.
any help will be appreciated.
Regards
David
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 04:41   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,463
Re: Route properties detail

David...

In current github master source...

src/routeprop.cpp, line 1380

Change from:
Code:
            //  Lat/Lon
            wxString tlat = toSDMM( 1, prp->m_lat, prp->m_bIsInTrack );  // low precision for routes
            if( arrival ) m_wpList->SetItem( item_line_index, 4, tlat );

            wxString tlon = toSDMM( 2, prp->m_lon, prp->m_bIsInTrack );
to

Code:
            //  Lat/Lon
            wxString tlat = toSDMM( 1, prp->m_lat, true );  // hi precision always
            if( arrival ) m_wpList->SetItem( item_line_index, 4, tlat );

            wxString tlon = toSDMM( 2, prp->m_lon, true );

Good luck
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 05:34   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Re: Route Properties Detail

Thanks bdbcat
That is a great help will try it out.

regards
David
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 22:08   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Re: Route Properties Detail

Thanks again bdbcat
The Code worked a treat.

David
dseddn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rope, route


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Trade: Riviera Maya properties (me) Catamaran (you) KCee Classifieds Archive 3 05-10-2012 04:51
New Waypoint Properties Implementation nohal OpenCPN 206 14-07-2012 12:38
Mark Properties with Links rgleason OpenCPN 2 05-07-2012 20:22
Route Properties won't take departure time ASappenfield OpenCPN 1 07-06-2012 22:55
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 04:31

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.