Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2011, 06:34   #1

Boat: flatwater: QCC 700x 18' and Hobie Outback 12'1"|whitewater: Jackson AllStar 6'2" and WS Habitat74 8'
Question Waypoints and Markers Move Relative to Chart when Scrolling ?

Hi All,

I'm new to OpenCPN, and I apologize if this "issue" is due to user error (which it very well might be).

I have tried to chart a simple route (two points) and run into a weird situation where:

1) The waypoints as identified on OpenCPN have different coordinates than if I plot them in gpsvisualizer.com (Map created by GPS Visualizer)

2) When I drop a marker or create a waypoint it moves around on the chart when I scroll the screen with my mouse. Even when I have "Lock all waypoints" set in the ToolBox. I am not using a wheel to zoom, nor do I have that box selected. (It happens when I do have that box selected, also.)

I'm using version 2.3.1 on Windows XP (2002).

Any suggestions? Am I doing something wrong?

If necessary I can provide a screen video.

Thanks for any enlightenment you can provide,

anja
naiad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2011, 07:45   #2

Boat: flatwater: QCC 700x 18' and Hobie Outback 12'1"|whitewater: Jackson AllStar 6'2" and WS Habitat74 8'
Re: Waypoints and Markers Move Relative to Chart when Scrolling ?

P.S. I should mention that the chart I'm using is 14773 from here: Chart Downloader for NOAA RNCs&#153.

404 14773 View 17 9/1/2004 1 264 6/25/2011 06/28/2011 23:55:12 09 7/19/2011 7/30/2011
Old 27-07-2011, 08:04   #3
Marine Service Provider

naiad...

Welcome aboard!