Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Manufacturers Forums > Fountaine Pajot
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2018, 02:59   #1

Feedback on FB in-mast furling main sail

Hello,
I am looking at a used Helia. A bit worried about the in-mast furling mainsail.
I would love to hear from the community any feedback and experiences.
ed91e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2018, 03:19   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cape George 31
Re: Feedback on FB in-mast furling main sail

In-mast furling is fine as long as you don't ever try to sail. Here are the downsides (DISCLAIMER: I don't have an in-mast, but I work as a rigger, and in our community, these devices are regarded as unseamanlike and useless):
1) Complicated
2) prone to jam, if not furled with absolutely precise steps
3) prone to jam even when precise steps are followed if anything goes amiss
4) dangerous when jammed halfway out in any kind of blow
5) lots of weight always aloft (this is the problem with jib furlers too)
6) Expensive
7) bad sail shape leading to poor performance
8) if the whistle of wind across the mast slot doesn't drive you nuts, it will still do so to your neighbors. This is also why running generators in crowded anchorages in the evening, and using those older Air Marine wind generators that shriek ever louder as the wind increases makes you a jerk. Seriously, you have to consider that other people are out there.
Old 27-09-2018, 04:18   #3

Boat: Norseman 447cc