Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2012, 07:55   #1

Post Lookin to start new career.

Hi all,

I am a 26 year old male trying to break it and make it in the sailing scene. I have been trawling the net on and off for a year now trying to get as much advice and tips into getting a paid job on a yacht. I know an STCW95 is essential in getting a paid position on board. Currently all I have is 1 years worth of experience helping out at a sailing charity based in Plymouth,UK at which I started with no hours sailing to helping out and skipper Hawk 20's with young people aboard.

I am not well off and do not have the finances to get me to the STCW95 stage and beyond, what I do have is the attitude and determination for me to make it. I have a proposition to all that are here on the forums to give me a chance to shine. I am not sure if this is against forum post etiquette but here goes.

I will sign a contract with anyone willing to give me this opportunity, the contract can be for 5 years or as the person see's fit and this is for working aboard as a deckhand in exchange for sponsorship for my STCW95 and other course's and a wage/salary (this can be negotiated).

All I want is an opportunity to show my potential to interested parties.
Old 14-04-2012, 10:15   #2
KDH

Boat: Wauquiez Centurian 42'
Re: Lookin to start new career.

They used to call this indentured servitude and not sure, but I think it might be against the law now, at least for a US owner (not sure about the UK). Not to mention potentially dangerous for you....
Old 14-04-2012, 10:25   #3