Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2014, 08:09   #1

St Augustine - moving a boat there soon - HELP!

Hello all,

I just bought a 32 foot Columbia (Alan Payne Design) and need to move it next week- ideally to St. Augustine, Fl somewhere. I need to put a plan together and only know a few locals. The boat is in/near the St. John's River. I am VERY new to all of this- excited but nervous a bit in my leap into the great unknown.

My mind is still racing on learning the chronological order of things like getting insurance (if needed), and with the title getting a temp registration to avoid getting boarded every five minutes while in transit. The planning is stressful and would sure love some in the flesh help or advice here from those who know the area or made the journey. Public or P.M. is fine.

I am looking for help in moving it, but some info first:

The boat needs a bottom job soon and some minor interior leaks fixed, replacing and re-tacking panels around the cabin windows. I wasn't able to check the through holes but want to with the bottom job (but the boat has been docked a LONG time in fresh water). Also need a tank for the head to be compliant. Eventually a dinghy too.

One concern is that the engine MAY need some testing to ensure a safe move, so it is possible minor engine work to get her going. I have a leap of faith all will be well but it's a heads up. I don't want to get someone to free up a 18 hour(?) or 2-day schedule only to find we can't move her safely.