Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 10:09   #1

Boat: WTB Lagoon or Leopard 38'-40'
Cost of Refitting

I'm looking for a source of information about the typical or likely cost of refitting a Lagoon 410.
This would be an ex-charter boat with unknown (as of now) maintenance history.

I'm thinking of the cost of replacing lines, sails, engine maintenance (if needed), other wear items, minor repairs, etc.

I don't really know the original quality of this equipment, or how much of it is likely to need replacement. I'm looking at several models from 2004-2006.

Maybe a rough guide as to what is likely to need replacement, what will soon need replacement/repair, and some rough costs?

I am handy, and willing to put in some weekend hours, but I'm not an nautical engineer and do not want a project.
ArtM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 10:15   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Endeavour 35, 1984,
Re: Cost of refitting

By experience : there is no typical costs.. it depends of how far the Admiral would like you to go with the budget !!!
The last expense (so far) is a new stove oven and the Admiral was quite happy....
Old 11-06-2012, 10:16   #3

Boat: Down East 45 Brigantine schooner

You are asking how long is a piece of rope? It is impossible to give an accurate estimate of any boat refit without first knowing roughly what needs doing. Some charter boats are well maintained by their companies, some are not. So engage a good surveyor to go over the vessel to find out what needs fixing. Then estimate the replacement parts costs and double it.
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 13:53   #4