Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2021, 14:36   #1

Boat: Tripp 41
3gm30f 55amp or 35amp alt

So I have ordered a rare electrical lr-155 hitachi alternator to replace the one that recently died. I didn’t have a chance to confirm the alternator as I was in a rush leaving the boat. This is a place holder fix until I am able to properly upgrade the electrical system. I didn’t realize when ordering that there was an option for a 35amp alt (why would someone spec that?). Anyway, if the alternator turns out to be a 35amp, are there any gotchas to upgrading the 35amp unit to 55amp? I am a computer/electrical engineer so the electronics are not an issue, I am just looking to make preparations.
Notyetsinking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2021, 16:56   #2

Re: 3gm30f 55amp or 35amp alt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notyetsinking View Post
So I have ordered a rare electrical lr-155 hitachi alternator to replace the one that recently died. I didn’t have a chance to confirm the alternator as I was in a rush leaving the boat. This is a place holder fix until I am able to properly upgrade the electrical system. I didn’t realize when ordering that there was an option for a 35amp alt (why would someone spec that?). Anyway, if the alternator turns out to be a 35amp, are there any gotchas to upgrading the 35amp unit to 55amp? I am a computer/electrical engineer so the electronics are not an issue, I am just looking to make preparations.
Edit: I was sent a J&N 400-44130 alternator which is an 80 amp unit. I figured Rare electrical was more of a distributor but it was not at all clear who the manufacturer was. Will this alternator work?
Old 29-06-2021, 17:32   #3

Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.