Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2020, 07:09   #1

Boat: 2013 FP Lipari 41
(4) 30amp pedestal to 50amp?

We are bringing our “new to us” boat up to our marina slip, which has a pedestal wired for 30amp plugs.

The boat is wired for both US 120V 60 Hertz and Euro voltage 230V 50 Hertz. Has a 3000 watt US voltage 120 60 hertz inverter with 6 outlets throughout the salon. The generator and a/c units are 230v. The p.o. ran the boat from 2 50amp outlets.

The marina will let us convert the pedestal to 50amps, but I’m still learning 12v (!), and clueless when it comes to electricity. Can anybody give us an idea of what that would entail, and an idea of the cost?

Thx in advance,
LeeV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2020, 10:55   #2

Boat: Hullmaster 27
Re: (4) 30amp pedestal to 50amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeV View Post
The marina will let us convert the pedestal to 50amps, but I’m still learning 12v (!), and clueless when it comes to electricity. Can anybody give us an idea of what that would entail, and an idea of the cost?
The short and slightly snarky answer to that is that it will entail a phone call to a qualified marine electrician and it will cost whatever he asks.

I'd be surprised if the marina will let anyone not professionally qualified do anything to the marina shore-power pedestal. While the electrician is there, get him to explain the shorepower systems on your boat. Someone who self identifies as "clueless" and wishes to live long shouldn't be starting their electrical education with 100 amps of shorepower ... get pro help with that until you are a bit beyond "clueless".

good luck.
Kelkara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2020, 11:28   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelkara View Post