Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2020, 10:00   #1

Boat: 41' yawl
DIY generator off 1GM10

Hello,

I’m thinking of using an old 1gm10 I have to make a generator for my home. I already have oil heat so it makes sense to have a generator setup to run off the same fuel.

I’m an electrical engineer but I’m hoping folks have already identified a decent generator to run off this engine.

I’d prefer to go straight to 120VAC with engine rpm controlling output freq rather than a fancier setup, but open to ideas.

This is to run my fridges and oil burner (and it’s hydronic circulator pump)

1. Any tips on the generator to use?

2. As engine that was originally raw water cooled, the engine’s only water pump is a rubber impeller pump. That pump is expecting cold ocean water. Will it fail if it’s repurposed to circulate coolant at ~180 degree F loop through a radiator?

I know this is unlikely to save me much money compared to buying an off the shelf diesel generator, but I’d get a kick out of putting that little yanmar back in action.
chris95040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2020, 10:49   #2

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran
Re: DIY generator off 1GM10

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris95040 View Post
Hello,

I’m thinking of using an old 1gm10 I have to make a generator for my home. I already have oil heat so it makes sense to have a generator setup to run off the same fuel.

I’m an electrical engineer but I’m hoping folks have already identified a decent generator to run off this engine.

I’d prefer to go straight to 120VAC with engine rpm controlling output freq rather than a fancier setup, but open to ideas.