Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2016, 04:20   #1

Boat: Catalina 320
Emergency solar control

My solar controler went out and FedEx won't have my new one to me till Friday. I want to connect one 100 watt panel direct and cover 4 cells to lower the voltage to 14. Will this work or is it time to start the engine up and let it run?

Thanks in advance, Woody

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Drift Woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2016, 05:22   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Emergency solar control

I'm not an expert on solar panels but from my limited knowledge it will depend on how your panel is wired and which cells you cover. Solar panels, like batteries, can be wired in series and parallel but panels are generally wired in a combination of the two.

Also a question, what's the voltage of your panel uncovered? Specs might call it open circuit voltage or Voc.

I think the safest option is to disconnect the panel from your batteries, hook up a volt meter, cover some cells and look at the voltage on the meter.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2016, 05:46   #3

Boat: Sabre 38
Emergency solar control

This same question was asked and answered by Maine Sail and Stu Jackson just a few days ago. See if you can find that thread.

I believe the answer was that you would be running with scissors if you connect the panels directly to the batteries. You in theory can connect them and manually monitor voltage at the terminals till they hit 14.4 (or whatever bulk voltage you batteries call for) then manually disconnect the panels. But if you don't pay attention and disconnect at the right time or will fry your bank.