Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-03-2008, 06:28   #1

Grounding question

I've wired two houses but I'm new to the DC stuff.

If I understand correctly, the there is a negative connection between the negative bar in the distribution panel, the battery, and the negative post on the engine. What did I miss?

Another question. In a catamaran in which the drive leg or the outboard(s) is/are completely lifted out of the water, isn't the ground to seawater lost? If so how should the ground be established with the leg out of the water?
prout35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2008, 09:52   #2
Eternal Member

prout35,

All 12V fixtures and equipment should have their own DC negative wire which runs to the ground bus on the distribution panel.

In turn, the ground bus should be connected to the ground lug -- or the ground terminal block -- on the engine. The negative side of the battery bank should also be connected to the engine ground or terminal block.

The reason for this is that there should only be ONE DC ground point, connecting to the water.

If by raising the I/O you no longer have a connection to the water, it might be best to install a ground plate specifically for the DC ground. Note that this is NOT the same as a scintered bronze groundplate (or "DynaPlate") sometimes used for RF grounding.

Note also that any radio RF grounding and any lightning grounding should be independent of the DC ground.

Stan Honey did a very good article on boat grounding for West Marine some years ago. You can find it by Googling Stan Honey.

Marine Grounding Systems ~ by Stan Honey
This article was originally published in the October 15, 1996 issue of Practical Sailor.
Goto:
Grounding

Bill
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2008, 11:50   #3

Boat: Fantasia 35