Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2008, 12:38   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Help us design for wind/solar

Hi all;

We am finishing the installation of an arch on the back of our boat. It is constructed of aluminum, with the top being simply 2" pipe. The distance across is about 75 inches, and the two tubes about 10 inches apart. I have a wind pole that would mount by welding a 10x10" pad between the tubes, anywhere we want left to right.

I want to come up with a plan to include wind and solar. I know the issues with putting a wind gen that towers over solar, but I have no real world experience with this. My thoughts were to put two 60-85 watt panels perpendicular to the arch, and the wind gen on a pad. But in what configuration? Do I need to buy shade tolerant panels, which are less wattage for a given area? Should I ditch the wind genny, and put one large 200w -ish panel up? If I do the two panels and the wind genny, how should they be placed on the arch?

One thought - prevailing winds on the east coast down to the Carib - would this have an effect on where to put the panels in relation to the genny, when only considering the relation of the boat to the sun while at anchor?

I would love for folks to chime in on how they would put this all together. We currently have a 300AH house bank, and a single starter battery. let the games begin!!!

Chris
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 12:41   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
How about a wind generator on it's own mast at the stern? You can use the mast for all kinds of different mounts, and the panels will have no shade from the wind generator......i2f
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 13:10   #3