Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2017, 12:19   #1

Lifeline battery capacity test

I'm checking my four year old Lifeline batteries by doing a 25 amp constant discharge. The Lifeline spec is 348 minutes to 10.5v.

I've never done this before. Am I supposed to discharge to 10.5v with the 25 amp load attached or 10.5v with no load?

Thanks
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 00:12   #2

Re: Lifeline battery capacity test

With load.

Normally a c20 test is done. To Check ah. Looks like you are doing it based on rc rating? I guess that works too.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 05:51   #3
Now on the Dark Side: Stink Potter.

Boat: Sea Hunt 234 Ultra

You are probably doing permanent damage to the battery if you take it down to 10.5 volts.
I would not....

I get 5 years or so out of deep cycle batteries and once even 6 years, but that was the end.
Old 12-09-2017, 06:05   #4
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

Search for 20 hour capacity test here

http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/p...attery_monitor

Better yet read it all, and check out the rest of the site.

No harm at all in going down to 10.5V long as it's all precisely controlled and recharged immediately.

If you want can devise your own easier benchmark, but need to run it at commissioning time to compare later.
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 06:08   #5
Marine Service Provider

Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSY Man View Post
You are probably doing permanent damage to the battery if you take it down to 10.5 volts.
I would not....

I get 5 years or so out of deep cycle batteries and once even 6 years, but that was the end.