Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-08-2016, 00:35   #1

Boat: Oyster 435
Send a message via Skype™ to corvus
Power Management

Dear forum members,

I am trying to understand the electrical system of my sailing yacht as I would like to install a power management system and some alternative sources of energy (solar, hydrogen) at a later stage.

So far I have put together a drawing of what I think represents the actual situation of the electrical system by following cables around the boat (see drawing attached). I hope this makes any sense, as I am not an electrician, I am not sure about the graphical representation of the wiring.

In a nutshell, I can charge my batteries either from shore power, a generator, or the alternator of my engine. All inputs feed to a split diode charger which is routed to the batteries. My charger has a third output which I could potentially use to charge the genset battery. At the moment the genset battery is only charged by the genset (I assume). There also is a bow thruster connected to the service batteries. I also have an inverter which I haven’t shown on the drawing.

My questions:
  1. I am looking at two different power management devices: the Sterling Battery Management Controller PMP1 or the Victron Energy BMV-702. I understand the Sterling Controller needs to be in the + System whereas the Victron is in the – System and requires less setup. I would appreciate if you could share your thoughts on these devices or indicate any other units that you would recommend.
  2. Is it a good idea to connect the genset battery via the CB to the third split diode and further to the charger?