Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2014, 03:25   #1

Pro Mariner ss 30 putting out low voltage

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to sailing and new to this forum. I am having a charging issue and thought I would give it a try. I have a Bayfield 32 with two bank of house batteries....two sets of two six volt deep cycle batteries. I use them both as house batteries and starter batteries. I also have a new starter battery in storage with a set of booster cables in the case that I kill my house batteries. The boat was docked for about 5 days at the marina plugged into shore power. I leave the fridge on to keep a bunch of ice packs frozen instead of bringing them home to freeze. While on the water I keep the fridge going when the engine is running which keeps the ice packs frozen solid. Yesterday I went to the marina to go for a two day cruise and the batteries were dead....8 volts. I disconnected the charger and got a reading of 6 volts output on each bank lead. I am assuming this is not normal? I connected my spare directly to my engine and went on my way and charged the bank with the alternator. I went to remove the charger for repair but it is in a very difficult spot to reach under the stern seat which would require I remove all my batteries and a sea berth bulkhead ect......and I still don't know if I can get at it. So I figured I had better ask some questions first. Hope you can help! Thanks for you time.
Paul Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:37   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Pro Mariner ss 30 putting out low voltage

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Paul.

I don't see a Pro Mariner ss 30 listed. Can you give a better description of the charger?

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote