Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2022, 21:11   #1

Solar panel fuse question.

I just bought my first solar panel, a 50 watt Sunpower panel. Eventually i will add more panels as the boat restoration reaches that stage. For now I just to get some experience and real world practice, i figured i'd put the small 50 watt panel on the main sliding hatch cover. I have no real experience and am beginning my research and study, but just want to confirm some things im learning.

So my question i want to confirm for now is, since its a single panel, the short circuit current is 3.1A and the max series fuse rating is 15A. Since im not going to wire it with other panels in series or parallel, as i understand it, i dont need to fuse the wires on the panel. Im going to use 10AWG wires with a total round trip run of about 30 feet so the panel current as i understand it will never exceed the ampacity rating of the 10AWG wires. Am i understanding this correctly?
BAD ORCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2022, 21:44   #2
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: Solar panel fuse question.

Essentially you are correct in your understanding.
But... this is assuming the solar panel is being wired to a controller.

If you are planning to connect the panel directly to a battery, then a fuse is required in the wiring at the battery end as the battery could deliver many more amps than the 10AWG can carry. Note, wiring directly to the battery is very poor practice, you should always use a solar controller.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence