Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-08-2019, 03:51   #1

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 361 Clipper
Solar settings for float and discharge

Hi All

Checking with folks whether I can rely on the default settings for my new solar controller. I'm new to solar and have purchased two 100W flexible solar panels with a 20amp controller:https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

These will charge two new 110Ah 12V DC31 Lead Acid Calcium batteries in parallel. I intend to leave the panels up permanently, only removing for racing. There are controller settings to switch them off after a set amount of time each day also.

Specs:
Each Solar Panel
Cell material: Monocrystalline silicon
Pmax(Power at Maximum under STC) :100W
Imp(Current at Max Power, A):5.55A
Vmp(Voltage at Max Power, V):18V
Voc(Voltage at Open Circuit, V):21.6V
Isc(Current at Short Circuit,A):6.11A

20A Solar Controller
Voltage: DC 12V / 24V
Rated load current: 20A
Overload protection: 14.4V / 28.8V
Overload floating charge: 13.7V / 27.4V
Charge recover voltage: 12.6V / 25.2V
Protection against discharges: 10.7V / 21.4V

I've heard it is critical to get the charging voltage settings right to avoid overcharging, and not to rely on default settings.

When I look at manual what it has as adjustable are:
float or CV voltage (default 13.7V)
discharge reconnect voltage (default 10.7V)
discarge stop voltage (default 12.6V)

Are these defaults suitable?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190826_175817.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	432.5 KB
ID:	198803   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190827_111421.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	382.9 KB
ID:	198804  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190827_111402.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	412.5 KB
ID:	198805   Click image for larger version