Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-08-2007, 05:12   #1

Some wiring and device questions

I spent the weekend crawling around my "new" old boat trying to figure out how everything is plumbed and wired. I came across some very screwed up wiring and some problems. While I'm a complete newbie to large sailing vessels, I am an EE so I felt at least partially armed to make progress on the electrical systems

Some background... I was told that there were 4 Gel 73 aH batteries configured in 2 banks 3/1 and they were a few years old. I found that there was an attempt to wire them that way but it was done incorrectly. That batteries were all bought October of 2002. 3 of the 4 (the house batteries) were completely dead. One read 5V. One 0V. And one had the positive post completed blown/corroded off (not sure which). All 3 of these batteries where swollen and ugly. The cranking battery was marginal to ok.

The condition of these batteries worried me (ofcourse). So, I started doing the wiring diagram and cringing alot.