Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Other
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2008, 16:17   #1

Boat: A Classic 1959 Herreshoff Ketch, 38' S/V ORCA
Question Sailing from California to Alaska....Route, equipment, recommendations, tips, etc...

Any of you done it?

My husband and I are planning to sail our (new to us) 38' 1959 Herreshoff Ketch from California to Alaska next spring. I am new to sailboats but my husband has spent years on the oceans of the world.

I am interested in hearing about your experience. Good and bad...

Your recommendations, tips, things you might have learned the hard way?

Thanks in advance...

A secret to a good marriage is to have a quick mind and a slow mouth...
Spin_Drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 18:54   #2

Boat: S&S Hughes 38
The only practical route is to sail to Hawaii first,otherwise you will be motoring most of the way, if even possible in spring.Not recommended.
highseas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2008, 20:12   #3
Kai Nui

Some truth to that. Late in the year, and motor at night is the best option. The winds can be severe in the mid day to afternoon, but usuall go calm in the evening. There are several places to jump in along the way. I would recommend you be prepared tp motor the whole way, which means spares for all your engine related systems.
Old 02-11-2008, 14:19   #4

Thanks for the info.

Would have loved the opportunity to read about some of your experiences.

Old 03-11-2008, 03:54   #5

Probably the best time to attempt it would be when the summer heat kicks in when winds are lighter in late July,early August.Motoring into the prevailing wind/current would not be pleasant otherwise.
Old 03-11-2008, 14:47   #6

Some slight disagreements, depending on your goals