Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Regional Forums and Groups > Europe
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-09-2021, 05:04   #1

Boat: Morgan 382
Portuguese Coast: Lisbon to Gibraltar in November

Does anyone have any direct experience with, and tips/advice for, sailing the Portuguese coast in November? I'll be making this passage in a few short weeks and would appreciate anything you might offer. Aside from making landfall in Lisbon after an Atlantic crossing, I have no experience on this coast. I understand that it's not the ideal season for making this passage, but, I don't have a choice.

I'll be leaving from Cascais around November 1st. My current plan is to stop in Sines the first night (anchoring, if possible). I'll leave at the first hint of light the following morning to round Cabo de Sao Vicente - anchoring at Praia do Beliche, if appropriate. The rest of the trip seems fairly straightforward, respecting the Strait of course.

I know about and follow closely the orca situation. And, I know the summer northerly winds will likely have ended by then. But, what else should I be considering? How often do weather windows present themselves at this time of year? Any tips for getting around the Cape? Any other wisdom or tips?

Thanks!
datswite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2021, 05:44   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Portuguese Coast: Lisbon to Gibraltar in November

I have never been into Sines so cannot comment on its anchorage.
My normal action for rounding St Vincent after a Cascais stop is to leave early and go nonstop to and around the Cape.
Its around 18 to 24hrs to the Cape.. This would have you dropping the hook of Sagres early to mid morning.