Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2021, 08:23   #1

Privilege Signature 510 vs 580

Good morning Forum,

My wife and I are in the early stages of research (Internet, boat shows, and chartering) to find the "perfect" semi-liveaboard catamaran.

This will be used for long term relaxed paced cruising with few deadlines... Med / Bahamas / Caribbean. If the weather forcast is snotty... we are waiting it out.

We have two sons who both love to travel and are both sailors. They will not live aboard,... but hopefully visit often.

I have 50 years of sailing experience... 26 foot sloop in my teens... 40 and 50 mono's in my 20-30's. Race crew on monos up to 81 feet. I have no big cat ownership experience... meaning I have no experience with yard issues.

We love everything about the 510,... however the extra outdoor areas of the 580 (Fly lounge and foredeck cockpit) are really appealing to someone who is frankly going to be at anchor 90-95% of the time.

I am not too concerned about the what if something goes wrong between the 510 and 580,... because both have sails that I am not going to be able to muscle out of trouble.

But how much more difficult will it be finding harbor spots (think Symi Harbor in Greece) for a 50 vs 58 footer? How much more difficult does pull out become going from 50 to 58? Or at this size, are you already over size... so it's not that much different.

Money is always an issue,... but we can make either work. It's more about maximizing enjoyment.

Thoughts? Am I crazy for even considering going over 50 feet?

Simon
MyCatLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2021, 08:43   #2

Re: Privilege Signature 510 vs 580