Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2019, 07:04   #1

Boat: Privilege 435
Can lithium batteries be damaged by providing too much current?

I'm in the process of replacing my 600ah AGM house bank and am considering lithium's. I note that many of the lithium batteries on the market have a maximum charge current of 50 amps. I have a Mastervolt 100 amp charger as well as a large solar panel array which, on a good day, can comfortably output in excess of 50 amps (Both my charging systems can be set for lithium's). Do these batteries 'pull' the current that they need for charging in the same way as lead-acid batteries or will they be damaged by the having too much current available?

I'm a lithium beginner so any advice is appreciated.
Privilege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2019, 07:27   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy
Re: Can lithium batteries be damaged by providing too much current?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Privilege View Post
I'm in the process of replacing my 600ah AGM house bank and am considering lithium's. I note that many of the lithium batteries on the market have a maximum charge current of 50 amps. I have a Mastervolt 100 amp charger as well as a large solar panel array which, on a good day, can comfortably output in excess of 50 amps (Both my charging systems can be set for lithium's). Do these batteries 'pull' the current that they need for charging in the same way as lead-acid batteries or will they be damaged by the having too much current available?

I'm a lithium beginner so any advice is appreciated.