Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 39 votes, 4.85 average. Display Modes
Old 18-05-2022, 14:40   #7531
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1968 Islander bahama 24 hull 182, 1963 columbia 29 defender. hull # 60
Re: LiFePO4 Batteries: Discussion Thread for Those Using Them as House Banks

Ok here is a serious question as I am new to MPPT finally doing some programing via Bluetooth
Now my controller can be programmed for just about everything I set it to charge up to 14.0v just like my pwm but now I can also program when it starts charging again on the down slope . Set to 13.5v now but any issues with potentially taking it lower say down to 13.0v or even 12. Something to take advantage of my full bank size and a bit deeper cycling ?
250ah and I use about 25 to 30 ah a day 200 watts solar.
Old 18-05-2022, 21:49   #7532

Boat: Outremer 55L

Quote:
Originally Posted by newhaul View Post
Ok here is a serious question as I am new to MPPT finally doing some programing via Bluetooth

Now my controller can be programmed for just about everything I set it to charge up to 14.0v just like my pwm but now I can also program when it starts charging again on the down slope . Set to 13.5v now but any issues with potentially taking it lower say down to 13.0v or even 12. Something to take advantage of my full bank size and a bit deeper cycling ?

250ah and I use about 25 to 30 ah a day 200 watts solar.

It’s not very good to use voltage to control charging as the resting voltage curve is so flat between the knees (~ 10-90%). SOC is better to use - do you have a BMS that has an accurate SOC calculation?