Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2024, 11:43   #1

Boat: Lagoon 380S2
Strange Problem with Victron Multiplus and LiFePO4

Hi Everybody,
After haunting this forum for 15 years, this is my second post!
I’ve owned three Victron Multiplus 12/3000/120 inverter/chargers since 2003 and I have a lot of experience using them with regular flooded and AGM batteries. I even worked with Victron back in 2004 to help them test and debug the Multiplus PowerAssist function to work with the Honda EU-2000 (which ended up working great and Victron subsequently advertised it extensively).
However, I recently encountered a very strange problem with a Multiplus after upgrading my Lagoon cat from 840AH of Lifeline AGMs to a single 460AH Li Time LiFePO4 battery. The upgrade required a lot of changes, including two new Renogy DC-DC chargers, a Victron BlueSolar100/50 charge controller, and a lot of rewiring. The Renogy and BlueSolar chargers worked perfectly all the way to float so I figured a few minutes with VE Configure changing to LiFePO4 and Li Time’s recommended settings would have my 10-year-old Multiplus also working fine but that was not the case.