Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-11-2023, 12:55   #1

What would you do

I’m installing a 12v lithium house bank “LiTime drop in style” from AGM. I plan to upgrade my alternator and add an external regulator. Just considering the alternator connection at this point, there are a few options as I see it, all with pros/cons wrt charge efficiency and preserving the alternator.
(1) use a FET battery isolator for the AGM starter and LiFePO4 house. Main con is a single charge profile from the alternator.
(2) alternator to AGM with dc-dc charger to house bank, possibly 2 in parallel to boost the amps. Main con is limited amps going to the house bank.
(3) alternator to house bank with a Balmar APM or similar APD then a dc-dc to the AGM.

I’m new to all of this and trying to get it straight in my head before I start considering the modules/parts I’ll need.
Thanks.
PSGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2023, 14:20   #2
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: What would you do

Assuming the AGM is the start battery, then I would choose 3.

Recharging the start battery normally only requires a few amps for a few minutes. Keeping the house bank charged requires real effort.

Thus I would have all the smart stuff doing the heavy work connected directly to house and use a simple dc-dc charger to do the simple easy job of keeping the start battery happy.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2023, 16:07   #3