Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 2.50 average. Display Modes
Old 07-09-2021, 10:10   #2311

Boat: Rafiki 37
Re: Canadian COVID-19 News

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macblaze View Post
There was zero promotion of winners etc. I had forgotten all about it and had to look up the winners when I finally remembered. It really seemed like they buried it, but it could just be bad comms. Heaven knows the UPC party has continually suffered from amateurish communication strategies...
Too true. So many of their problems are self-inflicted wounds. Smart communications could go a long way to avoiding some of their problems. As a comms consultant, I learned how to dress up (just about) any pig, and make it look like it could dance .
Old 07-09-2021, 15:21   #2312

Boat: 1983 Shannon 28

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike OReilly View Post
Too true. So many of their problems are self-inflicted wounds. Smart communications could go a long way to avoiding some of their problems. As a comms consultant, I learned how to dress up (just about) any pig, and make it look like it could dance .
The usual boast of a used car salesman. Not impressed. However, I dare say, the lack of " smart communications" was not the problem with the campaign.

One would have to be a moron to give up their good health for a miserly hundred dollars or a long shot at some lottery. And that's the real problem... the campaign assumed they were dealing with morons.

False assumptions, gentlemen, are at the root of all failures.
Old 07-09-2021, 15:33   #2313

Boat: Hunter 386

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg K View Post
The usual boast of a used car salesman. Not impressed.

What is it they say about ad hominem ...?
Old 07-09-2021, 15:41   #2314

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
That's true, as far as you go.
But, to add a little context:
Molecular tests, like PCR, look for genetic material, that comes only from the virus.