Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2022, 07:50   #1

Bareboat & tipping

By & large, this group has been pretty gentle with my total newbie questions, so, here goes....

We're chartering next month in the USVI (41' Beneteau Oceanis out of Compass Point in St Thomas / Dream Yacht Charter). As a first-timer, DYC has insisted that I have a one-day check-out with one of their skippers (which I welcome--beyond whatever he wants to see insofar as me operating the boat goes, I plan on ruthlessly interrogating him about the local area!) We're to pay at the marina for the captain's services (versus everything else which has been paid up front)--I assume this relates to that captain being independent of the charter operation.

In any case: what is the custom for tipping on a bareboat in the USVI? Assuming of course that I'm happy with the services provided: who & how much?
  • Checkout skipper?
  • Person who reviews the boat with me (assuming a different person than the skipper)?
  • Other charterer staff?
  • Delivery of provisions, if we go that route?
  • Fuel dock?
  • Et cetera--I will undoubtedly be encountering more service providers on this trip, who am I potentially forgetting?

As I say: please be gentle....

PS: I did do a search. The only thread I found (which I thought would be) on-point is this one: https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...ng-262166.html ; it quickly devolved into a debate on the merits of tipping in general (which is not my question).
Jughead135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 08:46   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: PDQ 36, 36'5", previously Leopard 45 cat and Hunter 33 mono
Re: Bareboat & tipping