Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2010, 02:50   #1
Neo

Boat: Pearson 31
Boston to Martha's Vineyard

Hi, I am planning a cruise from Boston Harbor to Martha's Vineyard in a Ranger 23 in the late summer or early fall. The ranger has a double reef main and an outboard motor.

I have 5 years experience sailing a Rhodes 19 and just completed a basic cruising class in a Seafarer 30. We were lucky enough to get a day with 25mph winds (gusting to 40) during the class so I have some heavy weather experience. It was awesome.

I am looking for some advice on how long it will take to complete the trip, where to moor and where to stop along the way. I am not even sure this is an adequate boat for the trip, but I can’t afford a charter this year.
Neo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 06:03   #2

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Hows this for a revelation - it depends on the weather.
Seriously, pick a good day and it's an easy day trip, done it many times. If you get slowed down or tired, Cuttyhunk is a good place to hang for the night.
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 06:04   #3

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
A Ranger 23 will get you there if you watch the weather. Your first stop will proabably be Scituate. Take a mooring there for the night. Or if the current is faborable keep going on through the Cape Cod Canal.

Plan your passage so you go through the Cape Code Canal on the tide. The current runs up to 5 kts at peak. Make sure you have plenty of gas for your outboard.

Then depending on the time of day either stop and anchor in Pocasset or keep going and spend the night in Hadley Harbor. HH has free moorings inside but the anchorage outside is good as well.

Then plan your passage through Woods Hole. Same current as the CCC.