Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-12-2015, 17:34   #1

Boat: Catalina 27
Charter plans for St. Vincent & Grenadines

I’ve been sailing for over twenty years, primarily in the Pacific North West. We’ve chartered in BVI (5X), Greece (Cyclades) and Tahiti. We’re planning our next adventure for the spring of 2017 and are looking at a two week charter from St. Vincent and the Grenadines to Grenada. This is a mixed crew of 7 sailors and non-sailors.

I’ve got Chris Doyle’s Windward Islands guide, charts (both paper and electronic), been reading both Caribbean Safety and Security Net and Noonsite for research and various web surfing. I’m looking for some input from Forum Members who have knowledge of the area, preferably first hand and recent.

1. Besides the cost of a one way charter and Customs clearance, is two weeks too short for the trip? Should we be concentrating on SVG or Grenada, are we trying to do too much, with not enough time to ‘smell the roses’? We want time to check out the islands as well as sail.

2. Security. Yes, I know that theft happens everywhere now. The boat next to ours had paddle boards stolen one night in Tahiti. We are very aware and try to behave accordingly. However, there does seem to be more than the usual number of reports about St. Vincent. Should we avoid specific anchorages? How much hassle are the ‘boat boys’ and are they everywhere? If you don’t use them will you be ‘visited’ during the night?

3. What anchorages are your favorites and why?

Thanks in advance,
Mossback
Old 18-12-2015, 17:57   #2
Eternal Member

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Lagoon 400