Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-04-2011, 06:29   #1

Boat: Hunter 36
Send a message via Skype™ to twellsjd
Make Home in Chesapeake

Our home port is on Lake Champlain in Vermont. In our slow but sure exploration of the "known world" my evolving plan (I am studying the guides and asking for advice here now) is to keep our Hunter 36 in the Chesapeake this winter. We will arrive in August and keep it on in the bay until the Fall of 2012 then head down the ICW. I am looking for recommendations of great marinas to hang out for awhile and ultimately to spend the winter. I am open to suggestions in both the upper and lower bays. We are, alas, not full time crusiers and must come home for long periods to work. A marina in a great town for land exploration as well is a great plus.
twellsjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2011, 06:37   #2

Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien 35
Re: Make home in Chesapeake

On the lower Bay, I'd suggest Olverson's Lodge Creek Marina. It's off the Potomac River at the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay. Great rates and quite a few full time cruisers spend their summers there before heading back south for the winter.
Old 24-04-2011, 06:41   #3

Boat: Finnsailer 38